In 2016, a small but diverse group of individuals combined efforts and led the “Yes on 780 and 781” initiative to pass State Questions 780 and 781. This citizen-generated ballot measures reclassified drug possession as a misdemeanor and created the legislative vehicle to reinvest savings from criminal justice reforms into alternatives and treatment. Oklahoma voters overwhelmingly supported these common sense reforms that make our community safer by addressing the root causes of crime and helping people who have committed low-level offenses return to productive lives.

In 2018, we launched as a 501c3 nonprofit committed to research, education and advocacy focused on continued criminal justice reforms in Oklahoma.

Our Mission

OCJR’s mission is to advocate for criminal justice reform in Oklahoma through research-driven policy and reform efforts that improve public safety by reducing the state’s dependence on incarceration.  Safe criminal justice reform saves taxpayer dollars and allows for reinvestment in alternatives to incarceration that ultimately benefits the individual, their family and the community.


Board Of Directors

Sue Ann Arnall, President, Arnall Family Foundation

Clay Bennett, Chairman, Dorchester Capital Corporation

Dr. Tiffany Crutcher, Founder, Terence Crutcher Foundation

Sarah Edwards, Attorney, Hartzog Conger Cason

Susan Esco, Community Advocate for Oklahoma’s Marginalized Women

Danielle Ezell, Partner, Mettise Group

Gene Rainbolt, Chairman Emeritus, BancFirst Corporation

Felicity Rose, Director of Research - Criminal Justice Reform, FWD.us

Amy Santee, Senior Program Officer, George Kaiser Family Foundation

Kris Steele, Executive Director, TEEM, former Speaker of the House

Tom Ward, CEO, Mach Resources

Rev. George Young, Ph.D, Oklahoma State Senator


Kris Steele, Executive Director, kris@okjusticereform.org

Clint Castleberry, Deputy Director, clint@okjusticereform.org

Jacqueline Blocker, Engagement Director, jacqueline@okjusticereform.org

Kalli Watkins, Reentry Coordinator, kalli@okjusticereform.org

Elizabeth Mashburn, Office Administrator, elizabeth@okjusticereform.org



  • CEO Works
  • Family and Children’s Services (Women in Recovery)
  • Family Policy Institute of Oklahoma
  • George Kaiser Family Foundation
  • Greater Oklahoma City Chamber
  • Intertribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes
  • Mental Health Association Oklahoma
  • Oklahoma ACLU
  • Oklahoma Center for Community and Justice
  • Oklahoma Conference of Churches
  • Oklahoma Corrections Professionals PAC
  • Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs Impact
  • Oklahoma Policy Institute
  • Oklahoma Right on Crime
  • Oklahoma Behavioral Health Association
  • Oklahoma Women’s Coalition
  • ReMerge
  • The Education and Employment Ministry (TEEM)
  • The Oklahoma Academy
  • Tulsa Regional Chamber of Commerce
  • Workforce Tulsa
  • YWCA Tulsa


  • Brad Henry, Former Oklahoma Governor
  • Rev. Dr. George E. Young, Sr., State Representative
  • Rev. Theodis R. Manning, Sr., Senior Pastor, Divine Wisdom Worship Center
  • Ray Owens, Pastor, Metropolitan Baptist Church
  • Joe Johnston, CEO, Catalyst Treatment Centers
  • J. Larry Nichols, Chairman, Devon Energy Corporation
  • Dr. Hance Dilbeck, President, Baptist General Convention of Oklahoma
  • John Groendyke, CEO, Groendyke Transport
  • John Browne, Mayor, City of McAlester
  • William Kellough, Former Tulsa County District Court Judge
  • Mike Booth, Pottawatomie County Sheriff
  • Joel Kerns, Pittsburg County Sheriff
  • Ed Smith, Seminole Police Chief
  • Robert Henry, President, Oklahoma City University, Former Oklahoma Attorney General and Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 10th Circuit